A stroll in St. Croix

Two days into my trip in St. Croix, I lost my camera battery charger. Ensued self-loathing, anxiety, panic, and an overnight order which did not quite work as planned. Two days of incessant phone conversations with FedEx US and St. Croix customs, a trip to the local FedEx office (it does not have a working phone number) resulted in the most expensive ever non-overnight delivery of a charger (later refunded by FedEx after much irritated prodding on my part.)

Thursday morning, I was finally ready to roll.

Roger at Carringtons Inn

My first photograph of the day was of Roger, the wonderful owner of Carringtons Inn, eating oatmeal straight from the pot, in his office. The bed and breakfast has five beautiful rooms overlooking Christiansted, and feels just like home (in more beautiful.)

Christiansted in the morning

I arrived in Christiansted early in the morning.

Christiansted cart

A Danish possession for close to two centuries, St. Croix has managed to keep most of its original structures. The town is a marvel of pastel-hued buildings which incorporate shaded sidewalks (we need more Danish architects in Texas.)

Across the harbor

Across Christiansted’s harbor, a hotel on a tiny island. For $3.00, you can take the boat and enjoy their beach (and bar.)

Business man in St. Croix

With so much vacation spirit and cocktails on the beach, you almost forget that people actually work on the island. While tourists go casual, the Islanders dress up.

Chance encounters with kids on the street on their way to school…

Eden

Little Eden

Anthony in St. Croix

Anthony

A little further, I meet Majo. He is trying to make up for a major gaffe when he forgot to invite his sweetheart for dinner after catching a big fish.

Majo in St. Croix

Then George.

George in St. Croix

George was very good with his crutches, and I literally had to run and hide to get rid of him… much to the amusement of the islanders.

George from St. Croix

Woman in St. Croix

Woman waiting

Backyard in St. Croix

Yard in a more impoverished part of Christiansted

Old man in St. Croix

Man on his front porch

Old lady in St. Croix

Sweetest toothless old lady

St. Croix cat

The lady’s very thin cat

Coconut retriever

Typical Crucian mutt

Crucian cop

Well-armed Crucian cop at the Kentucky Fried Chicken

gas station

Curiously, St. Croix is also home to Hovensa, one of the largest crude-oil refineries in the world. You would think that would translate in better prices at the pump, but not so much.

I finished the day by swinging by The Divi Carina Bay Resort and photographing my friend Rose.

Rose in St. Croix

I slept 10 hours straight that night!

5 responses to “A stroll in St. Croix

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

  2. Those pictures are lovely. I still don’t understand why you don’t get more visitors.

    I love the two photos of the kids – especially upside down Anthony!

    What camera do you use?

  3. As a full time resident of St Croix for the past 7 years, I have to applaud your gorgeous photos. You’ve captured so much beauty in everyday images that I had to look twice and wonder how you did it.
    I especially love the images of the people here, kids, cops, seniors and the black and whites or sepias. And your blurry edges that make every shot look like its’ out of a vintage shoe box.
    Stunning work.

  4. PS- Thanks so much for adding me to your blog roll. I’m honored to be in this small, select list.

    Your site should have dozens of comments!! Such beautiful work.
    Maybe I’ll make all the comments myself!

  5. Wow – yes, it does bring memories. Carrington’s really is incredible, and Roger was so much fun! You make me want to go back – Thank you for the comment you left on my blog!!

Leave a Reply

