The Ham in the Alley

Wrapping up a session at the Arboretum (meaning walking back to my car, evaluating time from parking lot to bed for well-deserved nap), I stumble upon two exotic-looking wee girls in an alley. An estimated four-year old model and her matching mini-me.

“Aaaah don’t move! Hold that pose! No, no, don’t move!” I say, trying really hard to hypnotize them into stillness while digging my camera out of the bag.

By the time I adjust my exposure, the lovely portrait I had in mind turns into the following:

The fall of the Asian Empire

Since inadvertently precipitating the fall of tiny daughter (but happy to have recorded the event), I figure it would be rather proper at this point to introduce myself to the mom. The least I can do. Really.

Sisters

Joy seems definitely more receptive to my Belgian devilish charm than cohort Ivy. Ivy does not like me much. Coming across as a freakish photographer barging in out of nowhere may have something to do with it.

Joy is a HAM

Joy is a HAM. She gets up, works her angles and gives me… Zoolander’s Blue Steel. I swear!

Haute Couture

Then, prima donna-like, breaks into an aria…

Joy breaks into a song

And bursts out laughing.

Joy laughs

My five minutes are over. I love my life.

9 responses to “The Ham in the Alley

  1. Am I wrong in thinking parents should NOT dress their children in the same outfits?

  2. Well… This is what I always tell my clients: no stripes, no patterns, not too much white, no matching outfits. I generally add a very heartfelt puleaaaaze.

    In this case, however, it was a chance encounter. The matching dresses worked really well because I only had five minutes and could only take a few shots.

    Had it been an hour long session, by photo numero 10, I would have started to sob uncontrollably.

  3. Awww – you do have the best job in the world. 🙂

  4. And yes please to the assignment!

  5. i like your blog. i will keep on visiting here. 🙂

  6. Me, too! Love your life, I mean. And your other ones as well. Love, Shirley McClaine

  7. Hi nathaliewithanh;

    Your blog is a pleasant surprise and the two little girls and their expressions brightens anyone’s day.

    You have a unique talent with words and an eye for the special things in life.

    Regards

    Robert

  8. An enchanting and beguiling duo and that this wasn’t planned, posed or pre-determined makes it even more so.
    Sometimes you just have to carpe the diem!

    Am now in NYC so will be checking other blogs and perhaps not posting my own. It’s a one time, yearly blog exemption.

    As you’d imagine, I’m packing in as much as I can.

  9. Aw, they look so adorable!!

Leave a Reply

