planetross is very patient but tres demanding!

“What happened to the Nikko dancers?” After asking Ross to be patient in the rain for an hour, then patient in the not so much rain for another hour while I photographed the performers, I should have expected that highly legitimate question coming from him. The simple answer is that the dancers were so cool that I thought they deserved a post of their own.

Let me preface this by saying I have no idea if the different troops were having a contest or simply performing.

The first troop we noticed – how could we not?

A lot of screaming happened along with the dancing

And jumps. A lot of jumps.

And jumping AND screaming at the same time too!

The next troop was much more subdued… and in another age bracket.

Subdued in their movements that is, because some sporadic screaming happened there too.

She was just cool-looking with her little glasses.

Another troop. Very traditional.

My predilection goes to black and white, but sometimes you just can’t escape color.

Please don’t ask me why but there was always a little guy playing with a flag in the background.

Now that I think about it, that afternoon, Ross may have been close to patience sainthood.

Some of the troops had little ones performing too. The cuteness factor ran pretty high.

They even had a mini flag bearer! Mini-Me since 2006!

While the performance took place, little dancers waited anxiously for their turn.

You could just feel how well-behaved these children were until…

Meet the WILD ones in the bunch. OMG! These were fierce little things… with a spooky-looking adult troop leader (not featured here.)

Back to the stage with a mother’s dream of a daughter.

The greenest of them all! Airborne!

And a highly enthusiastic nipple showing flag bearer

O ho! The return of the wild bunch.

Very expressive, but not looking very Japanesy folkloricky if you ask me.

I even thought the costumes were borderline slutty. Me! That should tell you something right there!

But they were interesting,

And kicked ass basically.

Soon it was time to go find the vagivan and head back to Numata to spend an evening with Kelly (buy his last CD) and Harumi, his very cool wife, at an izakaya. Have I told you how much I enjoy dining at izakayas although the memories always seem nebulous and the details sketchy?

14 responses to “planetross is very patient but tres demanding!

  1. Wow! Your photos are always amazing!

  2. I love the photos from Japan, but even more I love the name “Vagivan”. SOOOOOO wrong!

  3. That was really cool. Mind you, the whole Britney Spears thing happening with the wild bunch seems more westernized than I would have expected, but still…cool nonetheless.

    And ROFLMAO! at you thinking it a bit slutty. I assume The Child would find that next to unbelievable…

  4. Ahhh! Here are the photos.
    Great! They did deserve their own post.

    The “Vagivan” is alive and well; thank you very much.
    I barely fit in it, but I can drive it with my knees.

    hint on driving the Vagivan: the key is foreplay.

  5. Gorgeous Nathalie. The entire series is just wonderful. And the shift from Japanese folklore to almost westernized outfits is very interesting indeed.

  6. Thanks for all your comments! 😉

    S. Le: Thanks! In Japan you just point and shoot. Everything is worth photographing.

    epic: What could I possibly add to that?

    jason: They WERE slutty. Well not the really little ones of course. You should have seen the guy that accompanied the troop: he was really creepy.

    planetross: I see someone could possibly up the ante on the vagivan. How was that whiskey? 😉

    Wouter: Danke wel! I wish I had that kind of performance to shoot in Texas… Although I did shoot the Gay Pride Parade and that will be a very interesting post!

  7. Sorry I haven’t commented much lately (I get lazy about logging in properly). I have been following your posts though and am enjoying seeing Japan through your eyes. Photos as ever are fantastic and the story is very entertaining. 🙂

  8. Hey Nat, I just had a peek at your professional site. My heavens, the PATIENCE you must need, photographing kids and animals, let alone the adults (you gotta get my good side, Nat, my good side, yeh hear?) Impressed. VERY impressed.

  9. I got worried when the first photo didn’t seem to have any peace signs and then had a sigh of relief moment when eventually the other one appeared on my screen. Stunning photos with even more memorable moments. Wows!

  10. eish I have not slept in three days I blame J&B haha AND Google reader this goes on other post dang

    This brunette hair is NOT working for me, tomorrow I try pink I think

  11. So beautiful… You have SUCH an eye! Gorgeous, gorgeous photos…
    Some of those dancers coming at you look like they might bowl you over at any time.
    Wow!

  12. Nezza: you have been off for the last three weeks. Girl, you have no excuse! Thanks for appreciating my Japanese epic!

    Epic: Thanks!!! Perhaps I’ll swing by London at Christmastime and photograph your very good side and that of Monsieur. I hope you will be wearing your clogs too.

    SanityFound: by the time my trip was over, I wanted to hit the peace sign making children. If you look at planetross’s photographs, none of the kids are making signs. I guess I look so terrifying they were just trying to appease me.
    J&B? Is that Jim Beam?
    If you are naturally blond, you should try baby blue – works great with skin tones.

    Marian: Thank you so much for the compliments! Japan as a whole is very photogenic. You just can’t go wrong. Your art is beautiful!

  13. Nat, if you do swing Europe-side at Christmas, please let me know. I’d love to meet you! If you let me know your shoe size (tres petite, no doubt!) I’ll pick you up some clogs if the Clog Blog comes to pass…

  14. Very cool. Looks like fun!

Leave a Reply

