I fell in love with the pig…

And the lazy bastard had to open a store. I have decided a long time ago that I was much more talented at encouraging (harassing) others to promote themselves than to do it for myself. I’m not even trying anymore and I ran out of business cards four months ago. I’m pathetic.

When I saw a drawing of a planet with a pig Cochon and a little man foraging for truffles on the blog of Sir planetross, I told him I wanted a pig shirt. Much prodding ensued.

“Get off the couch and go work on these drawings. Canadians will still be playing hockey tomorrow!”

“Don’t let Kelly Pettit‘s idea of a good time interfere with your work!”

“Do you think graphics for tee-shirts grow in rice fields?!”  (Monsieur planetross lives in Japan in the middle of mountains, hot water springs where men bathe all naked and a lot of rice fields)

Et voila le travail! The store is now officially opened!!!

logo2-copyA difficult delivery (breech if you will) but a full line of tee-shirts, mugs, and other stuff too

We had our fair share of artistic differences. When planetross sent me this graphic:

table-has-turned

I questioned his good judgment. Would people ever buy a shirt with a little boy who peed his pants (even if they weren’t his)? Apparently yes. Monsieur Shinn was the first one to say he totally wanted one! So I caved in.

the_table_has_turned_american_apparel_shirt-p235751827801115124ax2vv_380

And I got my pig shirt too!

e-dylan-and-cochon-21The “cochon tres tres chic” line looks adorable on wee kids.

cochon_tres_chic_organic_creeper_tshirt-p235736739780811305a7lvd_380

Even our President decided that the inspirational messages on the shirts were quite appropriate for the campaign trail:

aobamasouthcarolina“Maybe the light at the end of the tunnel is just the entrance to a lighted tunnel.”

The shirts transcend time…

keaton007Buster Keaton sporting his favorite Kelly Pettit Unplugged shirt.

Many famous actors are hopping on the bandwagon (or whatever that expression is) and are adopting planetross’ sense of fashion (I’d never thought I’d say that in a million years, trust me!)

marlon0061Marlon Brando and his special optimism method acting in Streetcar Named Desire”

All the graphics are declined in women’s, men’s, children’s tee shirts, mugs and mouse pads (except for the “coffee mugging” line which is only for mugs and therefore not really a line to be exact.)

canuck_cochon_mug-p168167015538446546tr4i_380“cochon pour le bacon” shows planetross’ patriotic fiber (the man is a Canuck)

mental_mousepad-p144145075472766376cb7z_525-copyWhy buy a regular boring mouse pad when you could buy a beauty like this one?

Also, the lines are quite sporty as evidenced by this shot taken at some kind of golf event.

woods008Generally I’m not one much in favor of red and yellow together but I think it works rather well here.

In summary, it’s all in good fun, the items make splendid gifts, and please go buy something otherwise the boy will never get off his lazy bum again and he will tell me “I told you so” ad nauseam, and I’ll have to eat crow for months at the time, and you would not want that for me now, would you?

6 responses to “I fell in love with the pig…

  1. The drawings are fabulous. I’m sure that they’d sell well. Particularly in Japan where they love all things cute.

  2. Gee…I already have so many t-shirts. Might have to pass for now…but they are fun (in an odd sort of way…)!

  3. The Avenging Avenger

    YOU MUST BE SPANKED!
    (but in a kinder, gentler manner…)
    (oh…and you know why)

  4. You never showed me the Buster Keaton photo!

    I’ve bought a bunch of stuff anyway!
    surprise, surprise .

  5. Razz: I hope it works out for Sir planetross. I think he’d have to find a better way to sell his stuff in Japan than to have them produced in the US. Shipping adds up.

    Alan, your children need these shirts. A little pig for Ava, the red gumball one for Christopher. They need them. They just do.

    Avenging Avenger
    : I know, I know…

    planetross: I gave you Daniel Craig and LL Cool J, and you want my Buster Keaton too? You are tres demanding… and overly optimistic. 🙂

  6. I am loving this new venture, especially the cochon tres chic and the rubber chickens. SOOO Planet-y With An H. I’m going to be ordering at least one tee shirt soon but my problem is choosing which one.

Leave a Reply

